Now you are 16……

Darling Tara,

The date of March 12, 2004 is forever etched in my heart. It was the day we all, as a family were awaiting your arrival. And there you arrived, with a bit of a huff and puff, scaring us all a bit. Your birth was celebrated by many, with lots of laughs and joyful tears. You were here, our “TARA” , the star of our hearts and our lives.

How can it be possible that sixteen years have passed since the first time I held you in my arms?I remember every detail about the day you were born, and often replay that day in my head – wishing I could go back and relive it one more time. You were our family’s first-born; the one who made my dream of becoming an aunt a reality. You have created a love inside of me so fierce, so unbreakable, so unending, and so unconditional. I am incredibly lucky to have been chosen to be your Bui.I really must have done something right in life to have been given a lovely niece like you.

You have grown into an amazing young woman. You are that girl that I always wished I could be. You are beautiful, confident, smart, and well-liked by everyone. True to your name,You shine in everything you do.

Please know how incredibly proud I am of you. I know that life may have been hard on you but you have sailed through so marvellously . Let me reassure you that I will always be by your side on every step. I want you to achieve everything you have ever wanted. I want all of your greatest dreams to come true. I never want you to feel undeserving of anything, because you deserve the absolute best that life has to offer.

I want you to keep that confidence you have now, and continue to try new things; to meet new people. You never know what door will open if you just put yourself out there. You will make mistakes, but it’s okay because that’s how you learn lessons and become a better person. I’ve certainly made my share of them, and still make them today. Those mistakes create the path to the life I have today.

To be honest, you have probably taught me more than I think I’ve taught you. You’ve taught me patience. I’ve learned that screaming at each other often accomplishes nothing except pain. Listening and biting my tongue are much more effective. I’ll probably still get upset and frustrated ,I’ll probably still lecture you simply because I am your aunt and that’s what we do. I’ve learned from you to not sweat the small things. You rarely get involved in any gossip, and never really care what people think of you. You choose to see the good in people, and stand up for others even when you are standing alone. Following your examples, my life has become much more fulfilling.

It amazes me how people are drawn to you. You go to a camp half way across the country, knowing nobody, and you come home with a dozen new best friends. I admire your quiet strength in the way you accept the unfair things that happen to you. You keep moving forward, never letting them drag you down.

I hope your birthday is everything you dreamed it could be. Remember how loved you are. You are my sweet baby, your daddy’s little girl, your moms greatest strength and your family’s sweetheart.We will all always be here for you – your biggest fans.

Your story is just beginning. I can’t wait to watch you write it. Go reach for the stars!!!

I love you more. Today and always…….Bui.

Leave a comment